speakers

General Questions and comments

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

rxboy
Mechanic
jedwabna poszewka promocja

speakers

Post by rxboy »

I must admit I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to car speakers :oops: .

I'm not exactly sure what's the difference between 4-way speakers and 3-way speakers other than the increase in max power commonly seen.

What would you guys recommend in terms of best value for money in terms of sound quality? What I mean is: I DON'T want to pay an extra $200 for some super-duper cone which might produce frequencies that only a dog could hear anyways. I want a good quality all-round speaker setup (including a sub ofcourse) with equal emphasis on rear 6"X9" and front 6" with tweeter splits. I already have a JVC head-unit with enough pre-outs, so that's no problem.

Thanx in advance.
There are 10 types of people in this world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
GPXXX
Oldtimer

Post by GPXXX »

where's Boney when you need him nowadays....??? :D
Hez
Grease Monkey

Post by Hez »

best value for quailty would have to be clarion, (4-way consist of mid-range, woofer and 2 tweeters), whereas 3 way only has 1 tweeter. dere is no point in gettin a really powerful speaker if u run it off your head unit, u need an amp to run those 4 way's i believe.

Get some splits at the front. huge range of 6X9's (jus test them to your likeing) and as for sub it depends if u want SPL or SQ?

correct me if im wrong as im a newbie in audio too.

Also which is the best postion to place sub in the FTO?
rxboy
Mechanic

Post by rxboy »

Thanx for explaining the 4-way thing Hez. I'm gonna run the sub off a 2-channel 400W amp. I'm assuming that I can use 1 channel for sub and 1 for a set of rear 6x9 speakers. Is that correct? Would I be better off getting a 2-channel 600W amp instead if I were to buy 4-way 6x9s???

I was told that the best position for sub is in the boot, firing into the rear seats. I'll find out more from the pros at JB Hi-Fi :D